UPCOMING MOVIES! ‘INSIDIOUS CHAPTER 2’

Posted: November 21, 2012 in Reviews!

So there are a few movies that are coming out that we want to talk about; they are ‘Insidious Chapter 2’ ‘Texas Chainsaw’ and ‘Paranormal activity 5’. Today I will be discussing ‘Insidious Chapter 2’ and “Mr. Guts” will continue with the list tomorrow!

Insidious was written by Leigh Whannell (Saw) and directed by James Wan (Dead Silence). I must say that I am a huge fan of the first film; there are plenty of scenes that had the potential to make someone piss themselves(baby monitor noise, figure behind the curtain, Alarm going off, or the demon behind Patrick Wilson), and the music was just straight up creepy! The first half was genius; every five minutes there was something that made me jump and I cannot name another movie that has done that to me. A lot of people did not like the second half of the movie because it went  from “realistic”, to “no way in hell would that ever happen”. Personally I think anything is possible and that is why I love when writers let loose! I disagree with critics on the second half; why would we pay money to see reality if we live it everyday? The point of making a film is to unleash a vision and let your imagination fly. When they went after the child  it reminded me of ‘Poltergeist’. However, unlike ‘Poltergeist’, the writers had enough imagination to actually create the world where the child was being held captive. They referred to this world as “The Further”; perfect! I could not think of a better way of ending the movie. Yes, sometimes things are better left to the imagination of the audience, but I felt it was very well done and very appropriate for this particular movie. I always ask people how they would have liked it to end and they never have a response! I mean, what would you have liked James Wan and Leigh Whannell to do at this point? Maybe have the Ghostbusters bust in?? Or Maybe hire an exorcist? If you don’t like the  movie, why don’t you remake it(Please don’t); if you’re not going to do anything about it, then I suggest you shut the fuck up! At this point there is no real news about the sequel except that it will be released next fall. I really cannot wait; the original is one of the few movies that actually scares me!! And when I say scares me, I mean it makes me scream like a little girl! With the way the movie ended, people wonder where Wan and Whannell can go; my guess is that there is always room to go a little FURTHER!
“Mr. Blood”

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    I loved Insidious!!!!!! it’s one of the few movies recently that has given me the chills and made me want to instantly watch it again. It wasn’t until I read this article.. that I knew there’d be a second movie! TOTALLY excited! Can’t wait! Looking forward to your movie review when it comes out!

  2. Da Sanz says:

    while i do agree that they had a good idea to go off into the further, where the kid was held captive, i wish they had gone about it a little differently somehow. i dont claim to be a writer or anything so i have no clue how else to do it. but it just didnt sit right with me. i loved the movie up until that part though, extremely creepy which is hard to do in todays society

  3. Da Sanz says:

    i think its just that the rest of the movie felt so real, like it could actually happen, and then they go off into this la la land basically. i just didn’t think it fit in well with the movie. like it was something completely different from what i had just spent the last hour or so watching. I’m not at all saying it was a bad movie, i just didn’t care for that part of it is all. i’ll give it another look and see if i still feel that way though to be fair.

Leave a Reply

