SLEDGE INTERVIEW: DIRECTOR KRISTIAN HANSON

Posted: February 5, 2013 in Horror News

sledge poster  interview by Patrick Hannan

1. Where did you get the idea for sledge, and Adam lynch?

It came to me when I was driving with my wife. She said “Why don’t we film a movie where John (our co-director) lives and go up there to film it. Adam Lynch himself came from sitting down and writing the script itself. I wanted to make my own slasher that was different and that people would enjoy, and voila, Adam was born.

2.   Do you think that 80s slashers are starting to come back and be more popular?

I think so. People always talk about the good old times of 80’s horror films. Instead of dwelling on the 80’s we should start our own era of slashers that we can get behind now. I will always love Freddy, Jason, Michael etc but I think its time to make new icons like Adam Green did with Victor Crowley.

3.   I love the originality of the mask, where did the idea come from?

The mask was a concept I thought of, but Monster Matt Patterson made it his own. I told him my basic idea, and he ran with it and made it into what it is. Without his help, the mask would not be as cool as it is.

4.   Do you plan on turning sledge into a franchise?

I would love to do another Sledge movie with Adam Lynch. There is so much I could do with that character because he is just so much fun. He is psychotic and thinks he is in a video game or movie, so we could take it to another level with crazy deaths etc.

5.   What is your advice to people with ideas who want to bring their dream film to life?

If you have an idea just sit down and write it. Download a script writing software and just start writing. Don’t edit the thing yourself, just write until you are done then have someone else help you edit it. Next, if you don’t have the money to buy the equipment, RENT IT! By renting it, you save money that you could use for post production or on the film itself. Don’t let people say you cant do something, because the only person stopping you, is yourself.

6.   Any future projects you can share?

Not right now honestly. We are full speed ahead on Sledge. I have six or seven other scripts I want to make, but nothing to share at this time.

7.   What gave you the idea to for the killer Adam lynch to have a voice in this film?

I am tired of seeing the same old slasher and killer. The guy wearing a mask who doesn’t talk and seems to be a brooding monster. Well, I play Adam and I am only 5’10 and compared to everyone else on set (guy wise) I was short. So I wanted him to be his own character, and yes we will do some of the famous “behind the person scenes” but it is the humor that will attract people to Adam Lynch and his deadly sledge and knife wielding abilities.

8.   A lot of horror tends to have a serious tone, why did you choose to make this part comedy?

I am a huge fan of comedies and I wanted this to once again be something fun and different. One of my favorite recent films is Tucker and Dale Vs. Evil, a very underrated horror comedy film. It shows you that you can have fun with a horror film and still be considered a horror film.

9.   Do you have a favorite horror film or villian in horror?

Favorite horror film is An American Werewolf in London followed by Jaws. When it comes to horror villains I would say Michael Myers and Freddy Krueger. I love the overall concept of Michael and Freddy’s humor in the later films is awesome.

10. Will we be seeing Adam lynch with his mask on the whole film? Any backstory revealed on his madness?

He will not be showing his face without the mask and I never intend to do that. I think it keeps his anti-hero status where it needs to be. He believes he is a super-hero of sorts, and a super-hero never reveals who he is to anyone. Well, when they do show their face to that person, they tend to die.

11. Would love to get my hands on his mask, any plans for selling in the future?

We have discussed with Matt to makes masks for sale, but right now we won’t be selling any of them. Hopefully in the future though.

12. Is there an official site for the sledge movie?

Right now there is one being made that we will launch soon with all the merchandise available to buy directly from us. The site will be selling posters, t-shirts and some other fun stuff that I will wait to reveal when the site is up and running. The site will be www.sledgemovie.com and you can like us on Facebook right now at www.facebook.com/sledgemovie. The sledge site will be the place to go for updated information on film festivals and set pictures, videos etc.

 

“Kristian Hanson is one of the greatest guys I have ever met; he is truly inspiring and will always tell you to follow your dream and always think positive. Without him, there would be no Psychology&Horror an that is something I have had a lot of fun with and hope will be successful. Kristian has a wild imagination and I honestly have no idea where he comes up with half of this shit…but it is fuckin brilliant! GET READY FOR SLEDGE!!”-Joe Forsberg

 

Patrick Hannan.

Leave a Reply

