ROADSIDE! “THEIR FATE…IS IN HIS HANDS”

Posted: February 9, 2013 in Horror News

When I saw ‘Madison County’ I was so impressed with how Eric England was able to take a small budget and make it so much bigger by using his imagination and creativity. Damien Ewell a horror icon that will be remembered for a long time; his unique characteristics separate him from some of the other killers seen in horror films.

After seeing a film like this, I always wonder if the director/writer will be able to do it again. Although I have not seen ‘Roadside’ yet, there is something about Eric’s style that immediately catches my eye and brings me into the film. I just discovered the trailer for ‘Roadside’ today and I have watched it 15 times.

Synopsis- Dan Summers and his pregnant wife, Mindy, fight for their lives when they are held hostage in their car by an unseen gunman on the side of a desolate mountain road.

The synopsis seems simple, it is one of those movies that you expect to last 15 minutes or get old very fast; this kind of takes the ‘ATM’ approach but I feel as though there will be more character development that will make us care about the main characters, Dan Summers (Ace Marrero) and Mindy Summers (Katie Stegeman). The trailer itself makes this look incredibly intense; I could have not read the synopsis and still wanna see it just because the style of the trailer pulls me in. Now I might be bias, but I already care about Dan and Mindy; they obviously cant die. I could have cared less about who died in ATM, but I admit it was a fun movie that kept me entertained. With that said, the biggest problem I had with ATM is that i could not relate to the characters or the situation; I have never been stuck inside an ATM building (forget what they are called). However, I think we can all relate to being stuck on the road, whether it was with a flat tire or car accident; even if you haven’t, it is a very realistic scenario. To not be able to control your own fate is scary as hell; I mean, they should be able to leave, but cant. This is a sociopath’s dream.

Eric England has the potential to redefine horror; it could be with ‘Roadside’, ‘Contracted’, or a Madison County sequel. I encourage everyone to watch ‘Madison County’ again; look beyond the obvious, and focus on the creativity, imagination, and great direction from Eric England. I cannot wait to see his new movies; I honestly believe he is something special.

 

 

 

 

 

Joseph Forsberg

Leave a Reply

